St Nicholas Church Building is grade 2* listed and has some charming features. Our oldest stonework dates from the 11th Century. The main section has been much extended and re-ordered over the centuries. There is a peaceful Lady Chapel dating from the 1930s and the “Tower Room”, taking its name from the Norman style clock tower, acts as a church hall. It was added in 1987.
The stained glass is of a high standard and of various ages: the East Window, installed in 2009, is the work of Barley Studios, (artist Helen Whittaker) and is a spectacular focal point.
The Organ (1919 Harrison and Harrison) is a fine instrument, and was refurbished some years ago by Principal Pipe Organs. At that time a stop was removed and two stops were added. These have brightened the tone for celebratory voluntaries and the like. The organ has also improved, as a result, in its role of accompanying choral and congregational singing.